The Great Bad Costume

Picture4

The Great Bad Costume

by Tim Reynolds

“I’m sure if we dig deep enough, we all have a best-or-worst costume story somewhere in our memory banks. I love costumes and have won prizes with mine, including a regional theatre award for design, so here is my ‘worst-costume-best-memory’ story.

I was a goofy college senior, and Jane was a beautiful, petite, quietly intelligent freshman. We met at a dance while I was wearing bright orange coveralls and a red felt top hat. That should have been a warning sign that I was a little unconventional, but I suppose Jane was wide-eyed attracted to the fact I had just been cast as a Shark in the college’s fall production of West Side Story, the reason I was tearing up the dance floor in all my sartorial splendor.

That was late September. We only lived a block apart on the same part of campus so we got to see each other at the occasional meal in the Refectory and in the Great Hall common room when my rehearsals and lackadaisical studies didn’t conflict with her intensely serious studies. It was a time of innocence for both of us, unlike ‘kids these days’. What time we spent together was mostly hand-holding walks on campus and how-was-your-day chats. There was no Internet and no cellphones, no emails, and no texts. Neither of us even had a phone in our residence room, requiring a visit to the Proctor’s Desk or a payphone to reach anyone not close enough to yell at down the hall...” to read the full article, download the free eCopy of SEARCH Magazine‘s Fall Issue.

Leave a Reply

