Running the Golden Gate

Running the Golden Gate

by Ron Vitale

2011-09-17_18-37-54_71“Ever thought about running across the Golden Gate Bridge? I never thought I would have the opportunity, but I had several hours open during a business trip and took advantage. I was training for a marathon and needed to squeeze in a 13 mile training run anyway. A simple Google search helped plan a route.

On the day I ran, the sun was hot, and it was a clear day, no fog, and I could see for miles. I run with a Garmin watch to track my miles. I’ll admit I was scared. I had never run the course before and wasn’t familiar with the terrain, but I felt the sun on my face, took a deep breath, and headed off.

I looked out at the bay and couldn’t see the Golden Gate Bridge. That’s how far away it was. The first part of the course was the most challenging. I needed to weave in and out of groups of people on the crowded Embarcadero where tents were set up for a craft show. Through Fisherman’s Wharf, I had to run in the street, zoom around buses and throngs of people. Once I cleared that area, I ran past the aquarium, could see Alcatraz, and far, far off in the distance my goal. Like a toy on a train set, the Golden Gate Bridge stretched across the horizon. I kept my pace steady, and when I entered Golden Gate Park, I fought against the steep hills. To give myself a break, I stopped for a bit, took some pictures of Alcatraz and watched the sailboats on the bay...” to read the full article, download the free eCopy of SEARCH Magazine‘s Fall Issue.

2 thoughts on “Running the Golden Gate

Leave a Reply

