How Not to Make Fruitcake

How Not  to Make Fruitcake

by Larriane Barnard

SONY DSC

“Taking a wild hair I decided to do some Christmas baking ahead of time. I know all about the jokes of fruitcake for gifts, but I happen to like it and found an easy to fix, pretty inexpensive recipe. During the process, however, it occurred to me how much I qualified to write a how not to story rather than how. Use a quick bread mix, add nuts and fruit, how hard can that be? Ask me, I’ll tell you.

In the essence of time don’t take out the largest mixing bowl you have and double the receipt unless you have arms-by-Arnold, and I don’t mean Tom. I’d have to look up how to spell his name, but you know the one, the Terminator and ex-governor. That along should give you an indication of the mess I created. Make a note also that being your largest mixing bowl does not mean it will accommodate a double portion and the result is slopped mixing...” to read the full article, download the free eCopy of SEARCH Magazine‘s Winter Issue.

Leave a Reply

