SEARCH: Gardening Apps

In the Spring Issue of SEARCH Magazine,
we have a fun article about Gardening Apps by Dianna Kersey

Wade Fuson - Master Gardener

Wade Fuson – Master Gardener

Back in the 70’s, my grandfather was a part of the organic gardening movement using natural predators and flowers in his gardens. He used science, math, and astronomy for bug control, plant spacing, and sowing the harvest. Back then, I didn’t care about the whats or whys he did the things he did, because my only job was to pick potato bugs, pull weeds, and haul rocks. I didn’t think gardening was that great at the time, but I cherish the memories now. Still, I could have done without the rocks.

My grandfather spent hours researching what kinds of plants were growing in his garden and trying to identify the flower type the bees loved so he could propagate them. He would spend evenings combing through the seed catalogs, and the next season grandma was cooking all kinds of crazy stuff we’d never seen before. That’s when I learned about kohlrabi and how deliciously weird it is…” to read the full article, check out the free eCopy here.

 

Leave a Reply

