SEARCH: Defying Death to Impress a Girl

In the Summer Issue of SEARCH Magazine,
Defying Death to Impress a Girl
by Tim Reynolds

timI was once a reckless teenage idiot, and to prove it, I’ll tell you, my faithful SEARCH readers, a true story.

Some facts. Her name was Marla, we were both eighteen, and we worked at a suburban summer day camp. I was a non-swimmer, mostly because I was so skinny I sank like a stone and could never pass the tests. I was also a magician—with a crush.

Ironically, one of my jobs at camp was to teach swimming, which was fine, just so long as I stayed out of the deep end. I even had students pass their beginners test before I did.

I performed my magic act for birthday parties or the occasional Bar Mitzvah, and it sometimes involved a Houdini-like escape from small chains locked around my wrists. The chains were real and so was the lock. If trouble happened on dry land, my assistant would use the key to release me from my humiliation. Of course, to impress Marla, I wasn’t going to escape on dry land. Reckless. Idiot…” to read the full article, check out the free eCopy here.

Leave a Reply

