SEARCH: Spectacular Climbs and Vines in Morganton, North Carolina

In the Summer Issue of SEARCH Magazine,
we explore Spectacular Climbs and Vines in Morganton, North Carolina
with Michele Roger
IMG_0227

“They say opposites attract. I love my husband, but honestly, we vacation in vastly different ways. It is sometimes tough to find a place that appeals to both of our extreme personalities, as well as bring us together in our shared interests. Fortunately, we are catching a flight to a place that embraces both relaxation and adventure. We are headed to Morganton, North Carolina.

Friday Afternoon
Charlotte Douglas International is the closest airport to Morganton. I have booked a very conservative and economical sedan for the weekend. Tip: All of the rental car companies have free mobile apps. Check in for your rental as soon as your plane touches down to avoid long lines at the counter.

I head to the ladies room while my husband offers to pick up the car keys and load the car. In the garage, I search for him and the car I’ve booked. I double check my phone app. Suddenly, I hear him before I see him.  Grinning from ear to ear, he rolls up to the curb in a flashy Camaro convertible. I say something about unnecessary splurging. He counters with, “We deserve it.” Before I know it, we’re driving down the highway in the warm sunshine with the car top down. I remark the GPS says we will arrive in Morganton in forty-five minutes. He revs the V8 engine, and I know the GPS is very wrong.

After breaking land speed records, we settle into the hotel. My cousin calls, inviting us to join them for a party at the Silver Fork Winery for dinner…” to read the full article, check out the free eCopy here.

Leave a Reply

