SEARCH: The Lighter Side: Name That Therapy

img_0235

The Lighter Side: Name That Therapy

by Tim Reynolds

My family has been around for a long time, as I’m sure yours has. For too many generations to count, the Reynolds Family Tree has been full of greats and not-so-greats, but I think the time has finally come for us to get some serious, professional therapy.

Our arboreal graphic includes sailing over on The Mayflower, acquiring the rights to Martha’s Vineyard and Nantucket for 40 pounds and two beaver skin hats, the longest missionary effort in Christendom, involvement in the American Revolution, being chased out of the US after said revolution, bringing Canada together as a nation, and being present at the Russian Revolution. Fidel Castro even tried to recruit my Navy pilot father to help him take back his homeland from some dictator name Batista, but that’s a story for another time.

I used to think that the shadiest part of my family history was being chased out of Salem, Massachusetts way back when, but then I happened to look a wee bit closer at the more recent sections of this glorious Tree of Me. My concern really took root when I looked at my own parents…read more in the Fall issue of SEARCH Magazine.

Leave a Reply

