SEARCH: Animal Rescue & Foster Care

Animal Rescue & Foster Care
by Sumiko Saulson

aspca

Most of us are familiar with  the large animal rescue organization, the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, or ASPCA. The ASPCA provides shelter for pets so they can have a second chance.

Willette Williams tells us of her experience with the ASPCA. “When my daughter and I went to the East Bay ASPCA, we thought we were there to maybe choose and adopt a pet. We didn’t realize that instead our dog, Darling, would choose us as her forever family instead.

“The cage appeared to be empty except for a cot with a blanket. I read the mini pet bio out loud, and this little head peeked from under the cot to look at me. I got down on my knees and said hello. The head disappeared.

“I told the staff member I would like to meet Darling. He said. ‘Ok but be aware she doesn’t trust people. She was severely abused.’ He got a leash to put on her and lead her out to me. Instead, as soon as the gate opened, she darted out and ran straight into my arms, tail wagging and full of kisses. So yeah, Darling chose me.”

Not everyone is familiar with smaller rescue organizations, but…continue reading the Spring issue of SEARCH Magazine.

Leave a Reply

