SEARCH: Kimbe Abernathy

Kimbe Abernathy
by Emerian Rich

kimbe-promo-2

Kimbe Abernathy is an author, hairstylist, salon owner, and educator from Vallejo. As owner of COSMEBAR, she’s turned her natural gifts into an influential brand.

Kimbe’s been working since she was fifteen, and this powerhouse woman isn’t discouraged easily. She grew up in Louisville, Kentucky, home of the late Great Muhamad Ali, and then moved to California. As a child, she knew she was a little different from the crowd. “I was not afraid to stand alone,” Kimbe says. “Yet I was the one who had everybody over for slumber parties and outings. I was always the organizer.”

Her father passed away when she was very young,
and her mother was an inspiration to her. “My mother kept it moving all the time. People would look at her like, ‘How do you do that?’ From my mother, I learned not to ‘pity party’ too long when things do not go as planned. Indirectly, I was taught to ‘figure it out’.”

She started her career at fifteen, and once people saw the fire of her determination, support for her grew. “Hairstyling, is my first love. I love connecting with people on a deeper level and understanding their beauty needs and…continue reading the Spring issue of SEARCH Magazine.

Leave a Reply

