SEARCH: Just One of the Litter

Just One of the Litter
by Tim Reynolds

justoneofthelitter

I was raised by a French girl, coached by a Golden boy, and taught the meaning of true love by a Yorkshire girl.

They were, in order, a poodle, a retriever, and a terrier. If you said I’m a dog person, I wouldn’t contradict you, though I like cats, too. I like all animals, usually more than I like people, but dogs… A dog is the only creature that will love you more than you love yourself.

We got Lollipop (the names have been changed to protect my computer security), the toy poodle, when I was nine months old, and she was my girl. When I was four I learned to whistle loudly enough to be heard two blocks away, and Lollipop came running every time—a little black blur through the neighborhood…continue reading the Spring issue of SEARCH Magazine.

Leave a Reply

