SEARCH: Kenny Cowan, Artist

Kenny Cowan, Artist
by Emerian Rich

KennyCowanKenny Cowan is a Bay Area artist who’s lived in San Francisco for the past twenty-four years. He has been featured in many Bay Area gallery shows and is donating sales of his SF AIDS Memorial Grove prints to the National AIDS Memorial Grove in Golden Gate Park.

The painting featured above is called Land’s End, inspired by a picture taken by his friend Nina Bell. “I seem to constantly ask if I can use a photograph that one of my friends have taken,” Kenny says. “My painting, Golden Gate Bridge, was inspired from a photograph taken by my friend Andrew Smith.”

Although Kenny paints Bay Area Landscapes now, that’s not how he started. Kenny grew up in the small township of Dadeville in Southwest Missouri, population 249. “I had what I consider a wonderful childhood. Can’t say I was ever without anything I needed. I’m from a large family with lots of love.”

The person who most inspired him to create as a child was his art teacher…continue reading the Fall issue of SEARCH Magazine.

Leave a Reply

