SEARCH: When the Big One Hits

When the Big One Hits

by Camellia Rains

Damaged asphalt roadDisaster can hit at any moment and usually when you least expect it. For this reason it is imperative to be prepared and to have supplies and a plan in place.

This was put to the test with my family shortly after 5pm on October 17th, 1989 when a magnitude 6.9 earthquake rocked the bay area, later dubbed the Loma Prieta earthquake.  It was a couple of days before my 13th birthday, and I was focused on the important things in life, while sitting in my backyard, fiercely devouring the latest article on my favorite movie star. All of a sudden, the ground started moving, and it felt like a roller coaster. When it was done, all I could hear was car alarms and my neighbors shouting.

I ran inside and found the house in disarray from things that had fallen off shelves. My parents were okay, and though I didn’t know it at the time, that’s when being prepared pays off.

Until that point, I always questioned … Continue reading in SEARCH Magazine’s Winter 2019 issue.

Leave a comment