SEARCH: Luxury Looks with Thrift Florals

Luxury Looks with Thrift Florals

by Kristin Battestella

Unlike grandma’s dusty, plastic, tacky florals; I’ve been populating my home with sophisticated looks for less with thrifted foliage, vases, and upcycled holiday topiaries. Don’t spend on expensive swags or centerpieces when a little hunting and ingenuity can yield affordable florals reborn as luxury accents.

Real plants demand care and can be messy with kids and pets, but revitalizing a second hand item feels good, becoming a conversation piece when a houseguest asks where I got my doctored wreath or candlescape. Recently, I’ve begun disguising the insightly utilities in my basement studio with faux greenery, lucking out at my local Goodwill in finding vines, lighted floral strands, and more for five to ten dollars.

Of course, stretching our decorating dollar is often overwhelming and put on the back burner as doubt interferes with creativity. What if my redo is cheap and terrible? Rather than…

Read the rest of Luxury Looks with Thrift Florals from Kristin Battestella in SEARCH Magazine‘s #YesItsArt issue.

Leave a comment